University Council Minutes

October 5, 1998

Present: Greg Brown, Landrum Cross, Ben Dixon, Peter Eyre, Michael Perry (for Janet Johnson), Paul Knox, Peggy Meszaros, Carole Nickerson, Len Peters, Lisa Wilkes (for Minnis Ridenour), Mode Johnson (for Ray Smoot), Robert Sumichrast (for Rich Sorensen), Andy Swiger, Richard Bambach, Jim Burger, Clyde Harris, Spencer Allen (for Cindy Harrison), Charles Lytton, Robert Tracy, Muzzo Uysal, Deborah Mayo, Paul Metz, Kevin Pelzer, Eliza Tse, Bob Benoit, David de Wolf, Bernard Feldman, Rosemary Goss, Frank Gwazdauskas, Sam Hicks, John Randolph, John Seiler, Jamaa Bickley-King, Donna Cassell, Irene Glennon (for Anita Haney), Pete Martens (via phone) Nancy Phillips, Deb Williams (for Ben Poe), Terry Lawrence (for Peggy Rasnick), Joel Donahue, Aashish Jain, Janey Miller (for Paul Wagner), Jody Olson, Kathleen Knight, Duncan Neasham, Laurie Steneck, Sean Blackburn

Absent: Bob Bates, Erv Blythe, Eileen Hitchingham, Elyzabeth Holford, Charles Steger, Bill Stephenson, Tom Tillar, Paul Torgersen, Terry Swecker, Neal Vines, Skip Fuhrman, Norm Marriott, Curtis Lynch

Guests: David Ford, Pat Hyer, Gerry McLaughlin, Valerie Conley

  1. Call to Order

    Dr. Peggy Meszaros called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m. and announced that a quorum was present. Dr. Meszaros shared with members and guests that Dr. Torgersen is in Washington.

  2. Adoption of Agenda

    A motion was made and seconded to adopt the agenda. The motion passed.

  3. Announcement of approval and posting of Council Minutes of September 21, 1998

    Dr. Meszaros noted that the minutes from the September 21, 1998, University Council meeting have been voted on and approved electronically. Once voted upon, University Council minutes can be publicly accessed on the Governance Information System on the WEB.

  4. Second Reading, Commission on Administrative and Professional Faculty Affairs (CAPFA) Resolution 1998-99A Resolution Concerning Grievance Panels

    Charles Lytton presented CAPFA Resolution 1998-99A: Resolution Concerning Grievance Panels for second reading. The resolution requests a change from a five person panel to a three person panel in the grievance process for A/P faculty, not to include tenured faculty. A friendly amendment was introduced to delete some of the wording under THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED. The deleted wording includes: ", as is currently the case" and "(Current procedures call for panel members to be selected from a pre-recruited pool of A/P faculty who have agreed to serve on the grievance committee.)" A motion was made and seconded to accept the friendly amendment. A motion to conduct a roll call vote was defeated by a vote of 28 to 7. A motion was made and seconded to accept the resolution with the friendly amendment. The resolution passed.

  5. Council approved a packet of Commission minutes comprised of:

  6. Discussion

    Dr. Meszaros introduced Gerry McLaughlin and Valerie Conley from Institutional Research and Planning Analysis and David Ford, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs, who gave a presentation on the U.S. News Rankings. A "Virginia Tech Executive Summary" of the report was distributed and reviewed with individuals present. Questions and discussion followed. Those who would like to receive a copy of the handout materials should contact Ms. Conley in Institutional Research.

  7. Adjournment

    Dr. Meszaros adjourned the meeting at 4:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,


Carole Nickerson
Executive Assistant to the President


Virginia Tech Governance Information